Close
heta.al October 7, 2022

WhatsApp blocks “screenshot” in “View Once” contents

Social Mediasvg1 min read
Post Image

WhatsApp has started implementing a security measure that prevents people from taking screenshots of messages that can only be viewed once.

View Once was introduced in 2021 and works just like Snapchat, meaning users can send photos and videos for a set amount of time and then disappear.

But the app missed the fact that recipients can simply take a “screenshot” of the content, defeating the main purpose.¬†Mark Zuckerberg has announced that an option that blocks taking a “screenshot” is being launched.

Screenshot blocked

WABetaInfo reports that any recipient who tries to do one, can’t and gets a slogan saying: ” Can’t screenshot due to privacy policies “.

A third-party app won’t work either because they’ll just get a black screen as a result.

Unlike Snapchat, WhatsApp does not notify the sender when the recipient takes a screenshot. There is no fixed date for the new update yet, but all that is known is that it will be available very soon.

Leave a reply